January, 1867: United States Congress passes Reconstruction Acts of 1867

The Reconstruction Acts created five military districts in the southern states that had seceded. Twenty thousand United States troops were sent to occupy the South. A military government was established in Mississippi after the reconstructed government of Mississippi was rejected by Congress.

More about: