January 15, 1861: Ordinance of secession signed

Attala County delegate John Wood and Rankin County delegate John Jones Thornton refused to sign the ordinance of secession.  Thornton was commander of the Rankin Guards at the time of secession and went on to command the Sixth Mississippi Regiment for the Confederacy until he was wounded at the Battle of Shiloh.

More about: